Every Best Actress Winner of the Last 10 Years Ranked

10. Renée Zellweger, Judy

This is as bizarre to me now as it was then. This was, I guess, a “welcome back” prize, but has she even done anything since this movie? She’s a previous winner for Cold Mountain which is probably the worst Oscar winning performances of all time. If she had won for her electric performance in Chicago, maybe this wouldn’t have had happen.

Should’ve won: Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

9. Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Career win #2. I admire Chastain’s work ethic. I love her in Zero Dark Thirty and she’s fine in The Help (I think voters confused her with Bryce Dallas Howard). Her performance is shrugable here. She’s fine I guess.

Should’ve won: Kristen Stewart, Spencer

8. Emma Stone, La La Land

On one hand I love La La Land, I love Emma Stone, and I love when performances of original characters win. On the other, Emma is fine? I think this felt like the right moment for her career but she would later win again for the much superior Poor Things. She is quite good in that audition scene where her crying gets interrupted so I’m cool with the win I guess.

Should’ve won: Isabelle Huppert, Elle

7. Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Kind of same reasoning as Emma but I think this performances edges her out just because Julianne hasn’t been nominated since. Don’t love this movie but it’s whatever. The most notable thing about it is that tweet of when HBO Max glitched and they put the film in the “Girl’s Night” category which I still reference to this day. Moore should’ve won for Boogie Nights over the embarrassing win for Kim Bassinger.

Should’ve won: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

6. Frances McDormand, Nomadland

Whatever.

Should’ve won: Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman

5. Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri

Better.

Should’ve won: Soarsia Ronan, Lady Bird

4. Brie Larson, Room

It’s sad seeing what happened to her after this win but I’m glad she’s slowly getting better roles. This category was largely unopposed for her but it’s still a great performance.

Should’ve won: Brie Larson, Room

3. Emma Stone, Poor Things

An actor’s dream role, Emma Stone is really great in this. I’m against most people winning an Oscar twice just because I want more people (especially people of color) to win. However, this performance is just so good. She also looks so much like Lorde here, It’s crazy.

Should’ve won: Emma Stone, Poor Things (or Lily Gladstone who would’ve placed the same if she had won)

2. Olivia Colman, The Favourite

I think I rank this highly because her speech is probably the best Oscar speech of all time. She’s also outstanding in this film with such minimal screen time. I wish Glenn Close had won for the Fatal Attraction so this win wouldn’t have been so contested. Let’s hope Sunset Boulevard gets made (let Jamie Lloyd direct it please).

Should’ve won: Olivia Colman, The Favourite

1. Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Bonkers that this won so many Oscars given how odd it is. As an Asian teenager, Yeoh’s win is an indeed a beacon of hope that I can work in film and I can be successful in life. I think her performance and her physicality is stellar. I think the win is as important as it is earned. Entirely original, Yeoh states that she is indeed a strong actress. She sells Evelyn with such grace and stubbornness. It’s an iconic performance in a modern classic of a film.

Should’ve won: Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once (Cate would’ve been first too if she had won)

Leave a comment



Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started